top of page

A Family Affair - Sue Nyathi

I remember when a friend recommended this book, she warned me that I would struggle to put it down.


She was not lying. I used EVERY little minute I had (and didn't have) to read this book!

It felt like being part of a really good early 2000's show on SABC1 (back when SABC1 was SABC1!). You know the ones that have jaw-dropping drama - the kind you can find in your own family!


The characters were so relatable. From the dad's side of the family aunts with their snide comments to gut-wrenching heartbreak.





Xoliswa is my favourite sister - Maybe because I see so much of myself in her.

The big sister who had to carry her sisters and sometimes her mother but one day decided to live her own life - outside of the box they've built with morals and 'abantu bazothini'.


I loved Yandisa's spirit! Bad bitch ke la sisi!

Typical middle-child energy. Chaotic but so loving.


I lowkey SBWL Zandile's life. Not so much how she lives within the confines of duty - but the security of a man who loves you and the freedom to fly (even though she had to fight) yes, even that thing in Cape Town!


The one thing that stuck out for me is how through the patriarchy, abuse, heartbreak, fights and revelations, the Mafu's stood as a unit.


Sue is a beast with the pen! How she so accurately depicted Zimbabwe when it was booming and even when it started bombing. I felt like I was there.

Uyishayile shame, uSue! I cannot wait to read more of her work.




コメント


bottom of page