top of page

Finding Me - Viola Davis

Captivating, relatable - will leave you in tears!


This was the first book I picked up when decided to come back to reading and my God did I come back!


The book starts with a story of little Viola running and now and again during the book you see her gaining the strength and courage to face herself and stop running.

There were so many parts of this book that felt like a hug. That felt like an affirmation of the validity of the wild dreams I have. Other parts felt like I'm bang scorned!

Dragged for not doing what I need to reach them.


Others made me feel seen - especially that part about that idiot David. Through this book, I got to understand the feeling of making it out of poverty and having to pull everyone out with you. That's a role I've had to witness as it's my mom's reality. It has allowed me to give her so much more grace.


I saw the power of love. The wild nature of forgiveness. This, for me, is the reason I'll read this book again one day as I'm still training my heart to forgive


Most importantly, I saw the power of God and determination. How sometimes believing in yourself and what God has put in you WILL make you look crazy sometimes but it comes together in the end because "All things work together for our Good!"


This book felt like a chat with my big sister. One where she tells me how crazy life can get - in the good ways and the bad ways. And how it's ok to stop running




Comments


bottom of page