top of page

Believe in yourself

One of the most moving quotes in this entire series comes in episode 7 where Gogo gives us one random piece of advice.


She says “The advice I would give you is to believe in yourself. Believe in yourself even if you have nothing. Tell yourself that you will persevere and do what you set out to do. Tell yourself that no matter what, you want to reach your goals and you will do it. Tell that to yourself. Don’t wait for your friends, or me or anyone else to tell you. Tell yourself ‘I will do that thing, no matter what, I will reach that place’ “



Conversations with my Grandmother, and many other series have lived in my head and my Google Drive for years, stifled by imposter syndrome. I knew this series was meant to be when I couldn’t think about anything else. When I look back at the weekend it was shot, I cannot believe it to be anything but destiny. God, my Ancestors and The Universe conspired to help me maneuver every challenge in my way.


Doing this series has affirmed my capabilities as a creator. With just a phone and some cheap mics, I was able to create something so impactful. I have inspired myself to create even more, and proved to myself that I can do anything I put my mind to.


I hope this series has done the same for you. That it has shown you how your dreams deserve to live outside of your head, that you are all you need to bring them to life, and how that will only happen when you get out of your own way.


In the wise words of 2Chains, ‘Believe in yourself. Who else gon’ believe in you?’


Thank you for being part of this journey with me, for receiving my Grandmother and for seeing me. I hope you extend the same openness to yourself.



Listen to Conversations with my Grandmother: The Podcast to hear more on the themes covered in the series.



Gogo and I on the set of Conversations with my Grandmother


Kommentarer


bottom of page